Then My Living Shall Not Be in Vain

On this past weekend I attended a memorial service for an elderly gentleman.  The presiding personality came to a portion of the service where family, friends, community and church were asked to say something memorable about the deceased; to speak to his good qualities, deeds, character, personality or service.  After a long moment of deathly silence, not one soul rose to speak on his behalf.  No one had anything to say.

I thought that this was a sad commentary to the close of a life that had spent over 73 years on earth. 

I am sure that someone had something good to say about the deceased.  However, they just weren’t at the funeral that day.

This made me pause and think to myself, “I don’t want my living to be in vain.”  I want somebody to miss something about me that would make it easy for them to speak at my memorial service.  I want to help somebody to the extent that if they were to be asked to help eulogize me, it wouldn’t a chore but a pleasant stroll down memory lane. 

If I can help somebody, as I pass along,
If I can cheer somebody, with a word or song,
If I can show somebody, how they’re travelling wrong,
Then my living shall not be in vain.

~ Bishop O.W. Prince

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons license.
Leave a Reply

