“Jimmy, Raymond And Their Sick Friend”– A Sabbath Day Message

black boys 2

Jimmy Carolina and Raymond Shaw and I became friends years ago. And while we were children, we had different beginnings but we became tight friends, at least that’s how I feel about us.

I seemed to have always had asthma or some kind of breathing problem that kept me sidelined a lot during my very early years.

When we were about 12 years old, Jimmy, Raymond and I, set out on an adventure without our parents’ knowledge or permission. On one Sunday evening after church and dinner, Jimmy, Raymond and I rode our bicycles about 3-5 miles outside of Mayesville. We took a secondary road that carried us by Raymond and Jimmy’s former residences as they now lived in town.

While cycling, I had an asthma attack and had to stop and then it struck me that I was the only one that couldn’t breath and we were miles from town out in hot, humid conditions, surrounded by cotton fields and corn fields and no one knew where we were. I had brought my inhaler but it wasn’t enough. So we stopped riding our bikes and walked the rest of the way home—only riding for short moments when I felt up to it.

These guys could have left me down that old farm road but they stuck with me until we made it .home.

Although life and years have separated us, there is still a shared bond that we have even to this day.

As I thought about the experiences we have shared as boys and me not being left out because of my limitations, I begin to thank God!

The Lord Jesus Christ is recorded as saying  in Matthew’s Gospel the 18th Chapter verse 3, “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”

We are instructed to become like little children.  And therefore we are to love like children love.  Forgive like children forgive. Trust and Obey God like we are His children.  

A child’s love doesn’t see imperfections and limitations as much as it feels love and bonds with those who love back.  A child’s love is not condemning but encouraging.

But we must ask ourselves, “where did we, as a civilization and a people, lose our love for fellow man and neighbor? Who told us that we had to stop loving each other with a child-like love?” 

Do you have friends from childhood?

Do you have someone who will stick with you, no matter what you are going through, until you get home?

Do you have someone who will not shun you because you have a short coming or some limitations?

I know someone who will stick closer than a brother and never forsake you. His name is Christ Jesus.

For he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” (Hebrews 13:5)

Learn more about Christ Jesus on the O.W. Prince Ministries & Keep Looking Up!

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons license.
Leave a Reply

