“I Preach For God’s Glory & Not For Man’s Gold”

Those who preach the gospel 1 Corinthians 9_14

Please note that the following is only applicable to those whom it may touch and is not directed at anybody or any particular group. The Word of God identifies those who have benefited spiritually from His servant’s toil as those who are also responsible for His care.

Let each person discern for themselves who it is that has sown and invested spiritually into their lives whereby they are advanced in the Word of God and in the Spirit of Christ. Then let that person determine in their heart what is right to give that manservant of God – not in accordance with what they do not have but in accordance to what they have.

bar47

Hear What The Spirit Is Saying Unto Us This Hour Through The Words Of Paul The Apostle.

~ 1 Corinthians 9:7-19 ~

The Hearer’s Responsibility

Who serves as a soldier at his own expense? Who plants a vineyard and does not eat its grapes? Who tends a flock and does not drink the milk? Do I say this merely on human authority? Doesn’t the Law say the same thing? For it is written in the Law of Moses: “Do not muzzle an ox while it is treading out the grain.” Is it about oxen that God is concerned? Surely he says this for us, doesn’t he? Yes, this was written for us, because whoever plows and threshes should be able to do so in the hope of sharing in the harvest. If we have sown spiritual seed among you, is it too much if we reap a material harvest from you? If others have this right of support from you, shouldn’t we have it all the more?

But we did not use this right. On the contrary, we put up with anything rather than hinder the gospel of Christ.

Don’t you know that those who serve in the temple get their food from the temple, and that those who serve at the altar share in what is offered on the altar? In the same way, the Lord has commanded that those who preach the gospel should receive their living from the gospel.

The Servant’s Heart

But I have not used any of these rights. And I am not writing this in the hope that you will do such things for me, for I would rather die than allow anyone to deprive me of this boast. For when I preach the gospel, I cannot boast, since I am compelled to preach. Woe to me if I do not preach the gospel! If I preach voluntarily, I have a reward; if not voluntarily, I am simply discharging the trust committed to me. What then is my reward? Just this: that in preaching the gospel I may offer it free of charge, and so not make full use of my rights as a preacher of the gospel.

Though I am free and belong to no one, I have made myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible.

bar47

Although I cannot be bought, I give myself away freely for the sake of winning souls for the Kingdom of God.

Copyright © Othealor W. Prince January 2011
All Rights Reserved

TO GOD BE THE GLORY!!!

 

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons license.
4 responses

Leave a Reply

