A CRUMB FROM THE MASTER’S TABLE

The Master's Table

It’s A Family Matter

“Brother will betray brother to death, and a father his child; children will rebel against their parents and have them put to death. You will be hated by everyone because of me… Do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I have come to turn ‘a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, a daughter in-law against her mother-in-law—a man’s enemies will be the members of his own household.’” – Matthew 10:21-22, 34-36

bar47

Following Christ and the Commands of God is dangerous and risky business. It will cause us to be hated, despised and even killed by our own blood relatives.

Christ reminds us that we may sometimes have to choose between him and our relatives. He says, “Anyone who loves their father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves their son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.” – Matthew 10:37

And elsewhere he promises that, “Everyone who has left houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or children or lands, for the sake of the Gospel, will receive a hundred times as much in this present age – along with persecutions – and will inherit eternal life.” – Mathew 19:29, Mark 10: 29-30

But God does not leave us without a family, He defines our family in a more eternal and spiritual way. He says, “For whoever does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother.” – Matthew 12:50

Everyone who keeps the Commandments of God is my family member. Everyone who is born-again according to the Holy Scriptures is my relative. We are related by Water, Spirit and Blood. (1 John 5:6-8)

Amen!

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons license.
Leave a Reply

