“Is One Church as Good as Another?” / This Week’s Word and Prayer

one church 2blueThis Week’s Word

Matthew 16:18 (NKJV)

18 And I also say to you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build My Ekklesia (church), and the gates of Hades shall not prevail against it.

flourish%20navy%20blue%20divider

2012 BishopPrince 2012a“Is One Church as Good as Another?”

This is a valid question that millions of folks have pondered.

It appears to me that many people believe that they are Christians simply because they have joined a church (an incorporated or licensed, non profit christian institution). The contemporary Christians seem to be under some delusion that as long as they join a church, any church, they are saved and will inherit eternal life.

This could not be further from the truth.

Allow me to help put this in perspective. Ask yourself: Is one medicine as good as another?  Is one car as good as another?  When you are traveling, is one direction as good as another?  When balancing your checking account, is one answer as good as another?  Is one school as good as another?  Is a counterfeit bill as good as a genuine piece of currency?  Is a forged check of equal value with a good one?  Of course, the answer to all of these questions is “no.”  One is not as good as the other.  In many cases, one is downright inferior, or even worthless.

Only in the realm of Christian religion would we even consider saying that “One church is as good as another.”  Christ purchased his Ekklesia – his called out community of repentant and obedient followers (Acts 20:28).  He built his Ekklesia (Matt. 16:18).  He is savior of ONE BODY of Faithful Children (Eph. 5:23).  He is head of His Ekklesia (Eph. 1:22).  That Ekklesia (church) is undisputedly of ultimate value and benefit to all who become members of it.  New Testament writers speak of it as an exclusive, unitary BODY.  They call it “EKKLESIA” (Mistranslated the church)  They tell us there is One body or Church (Eph. 4:4-5). Across the centuries, men and women have established hundreds of churches of their own design and out of their own imagination. (Ezekiel 13)   But who would dare say that any one of them is of equal value with the Ekklesia that Christ built?  Christ’s Ekklesia (One TRUE Body) existed long before any human Catholic or Protestant Christian denomination, sect or cult was created, incorporated or established.

Our eternal destiny depends on our being members of The Ekklesia That Christ Built, which is God’s family of Repentant, Submissive, Obedient, Water Baptized (Submerged), Holy Spirit GIFTED believers (John 3:5, Romans 8:9 & Eph. 5:23).  It behooves us therefore to be members of that Community which Christ built.  No other body or entity is equal to that of Christ’s Ekklesia.  There is salvation in no other save the One True Body of Christ Jesus.One Church frame

Today’s Prayer

Father, I pray to You today in the name of—*YeHoWsHua HaMashiach – Jesus the Christ. You are the One True God and Your Church is the One True Church. I pray for Your forgiveness today. Please forgive me O’ Lord for thinking that the churches of the world were equal to Your One True Church. I now repent of that sinful and corrupt way of thinking. I earnestly seek to enter into Your Church as You have instructed me to do through repentance (death to sin), water baptism (Burial with Christ) in the name of Christ and the indwelling of the Holy Spirit. I wholeheartedly desire to obey all of Your commandments. Save me Oh God! Rescue me from the deceptions of Satan and from the pride of religion. Help me to live a life that brings glory, praise and honor to Your name and to The One True BODY of Christ. This is my prayer today in the name of the LORD YeHoWsHua* (Jesus) the Christ, Amen.

_______________________________________________

Look for me on FaceBook!

_________________________________________________________

Copyright © Othealor W. Prince 2010
All Rights Reserved

TO GOD BE THE GLORY!!!

11 responses

  1. Thank you Bishop for your study today on the church. While many folks are speaking out against the church its great to see a man of God promoting the church and the one church at that! We often forget it is the church that Christ purchased with his blood. which tells us its “valuable!”
    Paul

  2. I too am pleased to hear you speak on one Church, and one Body. All my friends say there are many churches and many ways to salvation. But since you and I both know there is only one God and one Church, then there is only one way, one truth, and one faith, agreed? I do however, have one question that is still pending in my mind. You mentioned one Church, but you never mentioned a name? Now granted, the scriptures teach “body”, “church”, “kingdom”, and so forth, but if that is scriptural, then their must be a scriptural name, agreed? For instance, we would not call the “one church” by an unscriptural name like, “Church of Satan”. Though that example may be extreme did you get my point? So if “one church isn’t as good as another”, then to say, “there’s nothing in a name” would be wrong too. You most certainly wouldn’t name your daughter Jezebel or your son Ahab or Herod! (Haha) In fact Proverbs 22:1 says, “A good name is rather to be chosen than great riches…” Thank you for your insight / comments on my question / statement. I look forward to reading your response! Bryan

    • Thanks for the comment and the question. I would like to ask you to please contniue to share your insights with me and my readers. What does the scriptures say regarding the name of the One True Church if in deed there is one name that all first century Apostolic churches were known by? Please provide scriptural referenes and quotes. Thank You & Keep Looking up!

      • I’m glad you asked. I was hoping for an answer from you to confirm if I was correct, yet I will share with you what I know on names. I know this for sure; God has always given great emphasis on names. If you start in the Old Testament and work your way through you see many name changes and many assigned names. As far as names that changed you see God changed the names of Abram and Sarai to Abraham and Sarah (Genesis 17:5, 15). In Genesis 32:27-28 and 35:10 He changed Jacob’s name to Israel. So here we see just two examples of name changes. In Genesis 17:19, we see where God told Abraham to name his son Isaac. In Luke 1:13, God told Zachariah to name his son John. Furthermore, in Matthew 1:21, God told Joseph to name Mary’s son Jesus. These verses plus others, tell us that God assigned names to certain people for certain reasons. It was important to Him. Whether the name was changed or assigned it was important! So this leads us to a few questions. If names don’t matter, why did God give these people special names? Why even change their names? Also, would it have been all right for people to use other names instead of the ones God gave?

        God assigned to His people special names that give honor to Him. In Deuteronomy 28:9-10 we read that Israel would be called by the name of God. This only makes sense seeing as they belong to God, therefore they should be referred to by His name. Furthermore, we see prophecies of a “new name” in the Old Testament that would be established in the New Covenant (Testament). In Isaiah 62:2; 62:12; 65:15 we read that God’s people would be called by a new name, which He would give. If God doesn’t care about the names His people wear, why bother to choose a new name for them? Then we see in the book of 1 Corinthians that God rebuked His people for wearing names of men to identify themselves (1:10-13). This certainly makes one want to question being called after a man, for instance, Baptist after John the Baptist, or Lutheran, after Martin Luther.

        If names don’t matter, why did God object? That’s because names do matter. God is our creator. He is our ruler. He is the Almighty I Am. And Guess what? He has the power and the authority to name His people accordingly.

        As I stated above, Isaiah prophesied that there would be a name. I believe this new name to be “Christians”. In John 17:20-21, the Lord prayed for unity. He wants all believers to be one. But what exactly is meant here? Well, Christian is the new name God promised to call His people (Isaiah 62:2). In fact, Paul states in Ephesians 3:14-15, that this name is derived from Christ. Furthermore, Disciples were called Christians first at Antioch (Acts 11:26). Agrippa said to Paul, “You almost persuade me to become a Christian.” (Acts 26:28). And Peter stated, “If any suffer as a Christian…let him glorify God in this name” (1 Peter 4:16) The term Christian refers to people who follow Christ.

        Is your religious name or church name in the Bible? Is Methodist, Catholic, or Lutheran in the Bible? What about Baptist? “Christians” is the only scriptural name used for those who believe and follow Christ.

        With that said, is there a scriptural name for the one and only Church? I believe there is. I believe there are many. If Christ is the head, and we are named after Him as individuals who follow Him, then the churches that follow Him, must have a name as well, right? In Romans 16:16 we read, “Churches of Christ…” Here we see the Church is named “after” or “of” Christ. There are other names: The church (used 56 times); The body, body of Christ, Christ’s Body (Used over 50 times: Colossians 1:18; Romans 7:4; 1 Corinthians 10:16; 12:27; Ephesians 4:12); Church of God or assembly of God (Used 10 times: Acts 12:5; 20:28; 1 Corinthians 1:2; 10:32; 11:22; 15:9; 2 Corinthians 1:1; Galatians 1:13; 1 Timothy 3:5; 3:15); Churches of Christ or assemblies of Christ (used once: Romans 16:16); The way (used 7 times exclusively by Luke in Acts: Acts 9:2; 18:25; 19:9, 23); Church of the firstborn (Hebrews 12:23); Church of the saints (1 Corinthians 14:33); House of God (I Tim 3:15); Church of the living God (I Tim 3:15); Kingdom of God (Colossians 4:11, etc.); Kingdom of his dear Son (Colossians 1:13); Kingdom of Christ and of God (Ephesians 5:5); etc., etc. I could continue, however I believe you see the point. We are to be named after Christ both as Individuals and collectively as the church. Again, is your religious name or church name in the Bible? If it isn’t, do you think God is happy with your name, or your churches name?

      • Thank you for following my blog and for responding so thoroughly to the inquiry. Such Thoroughness deserves honorable mention and acknowledgement. Thank you for your comments. And yes I do think that God is happy with the name of His Church of which I am the least member in its body.

        I have publically and passionately renounced denominational distinctions and titles. Please refer to one of my earlier works entitled “Don’t Call Me Reverend” found at https://owprince.wordpress.com/2011/12/16/dont-call-me-reverend/ .
        Matthew 16:17-19 says, “And Jesus answered and said unto him, Blessed art thou, Simon Bar-jonah: for flesh and blood hath not revealed it unto thee, but my Father who is in heaven. And I also say unto thee, that thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of Hades shall not prevail against it. I will give unto thee the keys of the kingdom of heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt bind on earth shall be bound in heaven; and whatsoever thou shalt loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.” Thus, The Church of Jesus Christ.
        I too believe in the Power of His Name for Acts 4:12 says, “Nor is there salvation in any other, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.”
        But more importantly, “God also has highly exalted Him and given Him the name which is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of those in heaven, and of those on earth, and of those under the earth, and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.” (Philippians 2:9-11)
        I openly profess the name of The Lord in the holy language – untainted by theology and revealed through revelation – “YeHoWsHua HaMashiach.” Please see http://www.therockofmontgomery.org/Yahweh.html For more information on the authentic name of God,
        Thank you again for sharing and keep looking up!

  3. Mr. Prince,
    Very impressed with your article on “Don’t Call Me Reverend”. I have a few things I would like to discuss with you privately, is there a way for that to be possible? Via email would be best.

    Thank you sir,
    Bryan

  4. Bishop Prince, I am so sorry I am not able to comment on the “vine”, I no longer author there due to the fact I am have an overflowing plate, so I cannot answer your comment. I wanted you to know I saw it and I tell you, you are right! If God ratioed us the way some people do Him, what would we do??? Praise God, we are His concentration, and He is ours! Thank you for the comment…I found your blog and have enjoyed it immensely! Blessings to you!! Juliana

Leave a Reply

