Today’s Word & Prayer – January 19, 2012

“Righteousness” ~ Today’s Word and Prayer

Mark Twain once wrote: “Always do right.  It will gratify some and astonish the rest.”  As I pondered this quote, I was reminded of a young man in the Bible whose name was Joseph.

Joseph is a good example of someone who is determined to do right and be right, even when no one is looking.  I have preached and taught several lessons using the Joseph story but I can sum all of them up in one short statement: “There is never a wrong time to do the right thing.” 

When Joseph resisted the advances of Potiphar’s wife, Joseph set himself on the road to the throne of Egypt.  If he had given in to the advances and seductions of Potiphar’s wife, he would have set himself on the road to ruin.

Joseph’s astonishing stand for moral integrity and righteousness initially placed him in prison but eventually elevated him to the highest office in Egypt, second only to pharaoh himself.   And because of Joseph’s moral integrity, Egypt and Joseph’s family were saved during a severe famine (Genesis 39-45).

It is wise to always do right.  There is more at stake than you might think.

TODAY’S WORD

“Now Joseph was well-built and handsome, 7 and after a while his master’s wife took notice of Joseph and said, ‘Come to bed with me!’  8 But he refused.”  – Genesis 39:6-8

TODAY’S PRAYER

Father, I pray to You in the name of the LORD YeHoWsHua* (Jesus) the Christ.  I admit to You O LORD that I have sinned against You.  I have yielded to temptations and given in to the wicked desires of my flesh.  Please forgive me.  Please cleanse me from all of my secret faults.  Please keep me from sensual sins and empower me to resist the seductions of sexual pleasures.  Let them not have dominion over me.  I desire to have a Joseph like righteousness—always seeking to please You and not the desires of the flesh or of the world.  Help me to remember that there is never a wrong time to do the right thing.   Make me always mindful that Your eyes are on the righteous and Your ears are attentive to their prayer.  Secure me in the knowledge that my acts of righteousness blesses the lives of my family and the lives of others.  This is my prayer in the name of the LORD YeHoWsHua* (Jesus) the Christ, Amen.

Copyright © Othealor W. Prince 2011
All Rights Reserved

TO GOD BE THE GLORY!!!

For more information on the authentic name of God, please follow the link below:
http://www.therockofmontgomery.org/Yahweh.html

2 responses

  1. The Lord bless you Bishop “Doing right when no one is looking”..I love it! revelation there too. The Lord bless you my brother and thanks for sharing this and visiting me on Image breakers. Maybe i’ll use that line for a thought tomorrow and I’ll place a link back to your blog, if you don’t mind… I guess that how great blogs work, provoking each other to great works…. A holy Ghost jump start..
    Paul.

    • God be praised. Hallelujah! All praise and glory belongs to God through Christ. Thank You my brother for such kind and encouraging remarks. I appreciate them wholeheartedly. I am humbled that you would think that my blog is worthy of mentioning in one of yours.

      Thank You and may The LORD grant Your Heart’s Desire as You continue to Delight Yourself in Him.

      keep Looking Up!

Leave a Reply

