Today’s Word & Prayer – December 29, 2011

“Personal & Private Prayer “: Today’s Word and Prayer

While as a man during His earthly ministry, Jesus longed to be alone with His Father in prayer. 

It was His custom to always look for a place to be alone whenever He wanted to pray.  This is so important.  Satan makes sure to provide lots of distractions (phone calls, text messages or knocks on the door) during times you have set aside for prayer.  Get alone where you won’t be disturbed, where you can truly focus on God.  Cut the television off.  Turn off your cell phone.  Turn the radio off.  Go to a quiet, safe and secluded place without the distractions of the world.  If you can get alone enough to pray aloud, that’s even better.  Praying aloud can help you focus on your conversation with God – maintaining your train of thought for a longer period of time.  In addition, being alone can help you avoid any sense of pride or self-righteousness that might develop if others were to see you praying or knew how long you prayed.

In Matthew 6:5-6, Jesus teaches us to pray privately to the Father for it is the private prayers that He will reward.

We are challenged today to seek some alone-time with God and pray in secret.  And the Father who sees in secret will reward us openly.

Today’s Word

12 One of those days Jesus went out to a mountainside to pray, and spent the night praying to God. ~ Luke 6:12 (NIV)

Today’s Prayer

Father; it is in the name of Your Son and my LORD YeHoWsHua* (Jesus) the Christ that I pray to You today.  I desire to be alone with You today.  I need to confess some things.  I need to talk about some things that are personal and private that only You can understand.  I am not comfortable in the crowd nor have I found rest in the counsel of men.  I am most comfortable and complete when I am alone with You.  Help me to find time to be alone with You for it is You who completes me and It is You whom I trust implicitly.  Empower me Oh Father, with the discipline and strength to unplug from this world and be alone with You.  I want to hear Your voice and not the sounds of worldly chaos.  I want to experience the peace of the presence of Your Glory and not the empty accolades of this lost world.  I want intimate time with You where I may lay my weary head upon Your breast and find rest for my weary soul.  This is my prayer in the name of my LORD YeHoWsHua* (Jesus) the Christ, Amen.

Copyright © Othealor W. Prince 2011
All Rights Reserved

TO GOD BE THE GLORY!!!

Footnote: *The Hebrew spelling of the name of Christ is used in this prayer for educational purposes. Yehowshua is often shorten to Yeshua but out of respect for my Lord I chose to use the spelling of His proper name to demonstrate that His name is above every name and that even the spelling of His name is relative to the spelling of The Father’s name – remembering that there were not any vowels in the Hebrew alphabets.  Thus, YHWH (Yahweh) and YeHoWsHua (Yahweh is salvation) are grammatically and uniquely related.  Notice the Y-H-W-H in both the father and the Son.

 

Become an email subscriber today and receive a fresh Word and a fervent prayer in your Inbox every weekday morning.  This is a free personal service provided by me out of my love for you.  Click on “Sign me up” today!

Please consider making a $30.00 per month donation to help this ministry.

You may mail your checks or money-orders to:

O.W. Prince Ministries, P.O. Box 3253, Sumter, SC 29151

As you give, I stand with you in faithful expectation of God’s outpouring of blessings upon you.  And as Mark 9:41  declares, you will certainly not lose your reward.

Thank You For visiting the O.W. Prince Ministries

Leave a Reply

